June: New Findings and Favorites

June has been a trying month and I’d be remiss if I didn’t say I’m happy (though somewhat nostalgic since it’s the first month since I’ve received my BA) that this month is coming to a close. Here are my favorite things from this month that helped keep me sane.

Recipes:

My go to cookie recipe for whenever I’m in a bad mood (that’s when I bake) is this Soft Snickerdoodle Cookie Recipe. The taste of these cookies make me feel like I’ve done something right in my life. I feel like a baking god even though all I do is follow the recipe. If 24 cookies is too much for you, halve the recipe or freeze/ refrigerate some of the dough.

Alternatively, since I’m a vegetarian I eat a lot of alternative protein sources like tofu. This Crispy Tofu Recipe leads to wonderful tasting tofu (I know, that’s an oxymoron for a lot of people) that can be combined with many-a-dish for a satisfying meat free meal. You can even make tacos with these tofu bits.

Clothing:

I’m waiting on a clothing haul I ordered but my current favorite item that I wear everyday is this Floppy Sun Hat from Amazon in the color beige. I’m serious about my sun protection and this hat makes me feel more secure walking around outside after my sunscreen has doubtlessly worn off (because if I’m wearing makeup I find it hard to reapply every two hours as directed).

Beverages:

This one is simple: Polar water. Get it in your favorite flavor from Walmart, grocery stores, etc and rejoice in water that tastes almost like soda but has zero calories. This might be the lazy person’s approach to getting enough water, but it has made my water drinking go up exponentially. My favorite flavors are the limited addition Strawberry Sunrise and Pineapple Grapefruit.

Media:

I’m used to reading 200+ books a year but this year got off to a shaky start with numerous health problems, stresses, etc. so I haven’t read a lot at all. However, I started reading again because I was able to find a new combined addition of a series from one of my favorite authors N.K. Jemisin, called The Dreamblood Duology. She’s an awesome sci-fi writer who is really expanding the genre as far as inclusivity, quality, and world-building goes. The last book in her The Broken Earth trilogy, The Stone Sky is coming out in August and I couldn’t be more excited.

As far as TV goes, I recently watched the Handmaid’s Tale and the second season of Sense8. Both were fantastic. The Handmaid’s Tale is one of the few TV shows/ movies that I felt added to it’s source material instead of detracting from it and it explored dystopian terror in the way that I feel is highly relevant to America’s current political atmosphere (despite the fact that the book was written in the 80s, though the show was altered to take place in modern times).

Sense8 was just a wonderful, highly dynamic show to watch. The relationships, depiction of people from all different races, walks of life, and sexualities gave me a feeling a hope while I watched it. It was also a sci-fi show, which made it extra enjoyable for me. Thankfully, even though the show got canceled, it’s coming back for a feature length movie.

Beauty:

I haven’t been wearing that many products this month, and definitely not many new ones. My go-tos have been mainly lip products because my lips are so chapped during the summer months.

Fresh’s Lip Treatment SPF in Berry and Jack Black’s SPF Lip Balm have been my two spf lip balms, my choice varying on whether or not I want some tint or a clear balm for underneath makeup. Smith’s Mocha Rose  is my favorite all-round lip balm because it smells so good.

My newest lipstick that I’d been coveting for awhile and finally purchased is Bite Beauty’s Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Dragonfruit because I love the name and the beautiful, summery, magenta/violet color for the warm months.

My favorite eye product in recent memory (that seriously packs a punch) is  Stilla’s Magnificent Metals Liquid Eyeshadow in Diamond Dust. It’s a lovely product that makes my eyes sparkle to the high heavens and I’ve never worn anything that got me more compliments on my eye look (I usually pair it with shadows from The Modern Renaissance Palette by Anastasia Beverly Hills but it can definitely be worn alone). Just make sure you use glitter glue. All of the shades in this line are amazing and I’m looking to purchase Sunset Cove in the near future to create a perfect mermaid eye.

Dries Van Noten par Frederic Malle was a graduation gift and it’s my favorite fragrance of all time. To me it smells like a french bakery. I can’t get enough of it. I keep it on my new vanity in view of my bed so I can stare at the bottle.

I’ve found my favorite Etsy shop called the Tattoorary which makes a whole bunch of beautiful temporary tattoos in various prints/ patterns and designs. My current favorite is this vintage floral design which looks very similar to something I want permanently tattooed on me in the near future. Right now I’m ordering these to figure out where I might want something permanently placed, if I truly like the idea of ink on my body, and simply to have fun.

That about wraps it up. What were your favorite products/ items over the past couple of months?

 

 

Author: postgradproblemsandlife

Recent grad with a degree in psychology trying to figure life out

Leave a Reply

