My Favorite Berry Colored Lipsticks

Lipsticks are my favorite makeup product. I love being able to change how my face looks so easily simply by swiping a coat on and running out of the house. As much as I like eye shadow and have been wearing it for longer, it’s harder to master. Wearing lipstick just requires knowing what you like, color wise and finish wise, and then taking a minute or so it put it on. Nothing else. I wear lipstick, tinted moisturizer, concealer (sometimes without the TM), and mascara alone all the time and don’t feel any less put together. The look possibilities are also nearly limitless. Changing the color of your lips, even subtly, brings out different colors in your face and different features. It’s my miracle product.

My favorite shade of lipstick is berry. There’s a photo of me somewhere in a family scrapbook that shows me at 3-4 years old in a green and white daisy dress, with hair down to my waist, and the most beautiful wine color on my lips (most definitely applied by my aunt who was only 10 or 11 at the time). It’s the most flattering shade I’ve ever seen (in my opinion) and I’ve spent a significant amount of time trying to duplicate it. Needless to say, I have more berry lipsticks than I need. Here are my favorites in no particular order (it was too hard to decide):

Affordable:

Maybelline’s Blissful Berry (410) is the first lipstick I purchased with my own money (it wasn’t a reject from my Mother’s makeup collection). My Mom helped me pick it out at the end of my sophomore year of college. It’s a basic cream lipstick that’s a cool tone medium purple color that might pull more of a deeper berry-pink if your lips are darker/ more pigmented. It was the only lipstick I wore for months and I still wear it fairly often now… despite knowing that I should get a replacement. Now I like my berries with a little more red (like almost a wine stain), but I still think that it’s beautiful.

L’oreal Zoe’s Red is my favorite affordable lipstick. Unfortunately, I think its been discontinued, which sucks but that won’t keep more from checking stores and trying to find it before they all disappear. This shade is a more satin-matte (not completely matte but not quite satin either) deeper, but still cooler tone, red-berry. It’s labeled a red, and might appear more red on deeper skin tones, but on me it’s somewhere between a red and a berry, resembling the color of my favorite Cabernet Sauvignon on my lips. It makes me really happy and I wear it and it’s one of my favorite colors to wear to an event or with only mascara. The wear time is great for a more traditional lipstick. I find that I don’t have to reapply during the day because the color takes awhile to wear and it wears evenly if my lips aren’t chapped.

Wet n Wild’s Berry Recognize is another more purple-medium-berry shade in one of my favorite liquid lipstick lines. It has more red in it than blissful berry and is matte, but I don’t find it drying at all and I love the intensity and smoothness of the pigmentation. I wear this quite often. It stays for forever, but on my lips, does transfer (to be fair absolutely everything, from the driest of the dry formulas transfers on me). However, it transfers way less than anything else I own.

NYX’s Soft Matte Lip Cream in Prague is described as a ‘matte merlot’ on NYX’s website, which implies that it’s more red and wine colored than I find it to be on my lips. On me, it’s more of a medium berry pink with one layer, and a bit darker of a berry with another layer. That doesn’t mean I don’t love this color or this line of products. I own nine of the soft matte lip creams in total and find this shade in particular to be one of the best formulated out of what I’ve purchased. I love it so much I brought it with me when I went to Prague (I know, I’m cheesy) and I’m wearing it right now.  I think this color is the most universally flattering on my list.

Honor Mention: NYX’s Soft Matte Lip Cream in Copenhagen is the most perfect Berry-Plum color. I love this color/sahde more than anything I have on this list. Unfortunately, the formula is streaky for me. Maybe it’s just the one I purchased, but I don’t wear it very often despite loving the color when I can get it to apply properly. All of the other colors I own from this line apply smoothly and aren’t nearly as drying as this one. Still, if you can get this shade to work, it’s beautiful.

 

High End:

Shiseido Perfect Rouge Lipstick in Salon RD 305 is my most used lipstick because it’s super old and one of the colors my Mom gave me from a sample kit quite a few years ago. Let’s just say I wore this to a Winter Formal in High School and it’s one of the few lipsticks I liked at the time (I hate how lipstick looked on me until around the time I turned 19). It’s described as a deep berry but it’s really more of a medium berry red in a satin-creme formula. I adore this shade (if you can’t tell by how long I’ve kept it) and I’m terrified of it running out.

Urban Decay’s Venom is described as a bright-plum  in a cream finish and it’s exactly that. More of medium color because of it’s brightness, but it’s deeper in tone than most of the colors on this list. I bought it on my 20th birthday before Urban Decay discontinued it’s Revolution Line but kept this shade as a part of it’s Vice line. It’s the first high end lipstick that I purchased and I wear it mostly on special occasions (it’s my favorite Christmas shade) or when I’, feeling particularly dark. I usually don’t wear this alone without eye makeup because I love how it looks with other cool-toned colors, but it’s extremely stunning.

Sephora’s Truth or Dare is a satin finish berry-wine. It’s not quite drugstore price at $12.50 but it’s definitely not anywhere near the most expensive on this list. It’s a beautiful color with an impressive formula that isn’t drying, provides the perfect amount of shine without being glossy, and wears for hours. I don’t have anything negative to say about this color because it’s extremely flattering, wearable, and relatively inexpensive. I wear it quite often.

Bite Beauty’s Beetroot is a bold reddish berry that’s a new favorite of mine. Bite makes my favorite lipstick formula ever. The whole line smells fantastic (but subtle), wears for hours (I didn’t need to apply Beetroot at all), is creamy, non-streaky, and comes in the most beautiful and richly saturated shades. This color is a bit more vampy than some of the other colors on the list, which makes it perfect for me and one of my favorites.

Extra Special Mentions (my two favorites):

These are both beautiful, high end lipstick that were discontinued. I didn’t think it was fair to put them with the rest of the lipsticks because they’ve been out of stores for years. Unfortunately, they’re also my two favorites.

Bite Beauty’s Kir Royale is part of their discontinued Luminous Creme line and  is described by the brand as a bold berry/ wine. It comes across as that on my lips. On people with deeper skin tones, it appears to come off pinker and lighter. I don’t know if that’s because the one I have was a part of a limited edition holiday duo set (it’s a mini size that came with a lipgloss with the same name), but nevertheless it’s still a berry and it’s gorgeous. I wear this far more than I should considering that I’ll never be able to get a hold of it again but I can’t bring myself to stop. It looks great on it’s own and with brown and gold eyeshadows especially. I wore it on my 21st birthday, to countless parties, to class, etc, and I’m never tired of how creamy the formula is, of the smell,  graceful wear, or  it’s opacity. I’m also extremely fond of lipsticks named after alcoholic beverages. This is another shade (like Prague) that I think is pretty universally flattering.

Buxom’s Menance is my favorite lipstick. It’s a berry-wine-red creme lipstick with an extremely light amount of shimmer (I didn’t notice the shimmer until I looked at other reviews with close-up pictures). I wore this on my first important date and to other meaningful social events until I decided I had to save it so I could find a duplicate. On me (with my light skin and light mauvy-pink lips), it’s fairly deep, but not quite super dark. It’s a bold choice that I pretty much always wore with other makeup unless I was going for a more editorial-goth look (and honestly sometimes I am). This is the lipstick I want to be buried in, provided I die soon or find one in the future that closely resembles it. I’m also saving it to bring to the Bite Beauty Lab in New York City to see if I can have an exact copy of it made. This is the closet shade to the one I was wearing in that picture of me as a little girl and it will be a long time until I part with it.

Thank you for reading! What are your favorite berry lipsticks and what shade of lipstick do you like the best?

Note: Wet n Wild, NYX, Urban Decay, Bite Beauty, and Buxom are cruelty free and do not test on animals. However, Buxom, NYX, Urban Decay, and Buxom are  owned by parent copies that are not cruelty free and do test on animals.

 

Author: postgradproblemsandlife

Recent grad with a degree in psychology trying to figure life out

Leave a Reply

